Hong Kong’s highest court has moved to a new home — the former Legislative Council building in Central.
And to mark the move, the Court of Final Appeal unveiled a new logo inspired by the historic 103-year-old building.
The logo depicts the exterior of the 8 Jackson Road building in blue which is meant to give a sense of solemnity and dignity and represent the judiciary’s core value of open and impartial justice, according to officials.
Chief Justice Geoffrey Ma described the move as a kind of homecoming to a building with a rich history.
The neo-classical structure was opened in 1912.
It housed the Supreme Court until 1984 and the Legislative Council from 1985 to 2011 when Legco moved to its modern home in the Central Government Offices complex in Admiralty.
The building was used as a military police headquarters during the Japanese occupation.
The Court of Final Appeal, established after the 1997 handover with the power of final adjudication on Hong Kong laws, opened in the former French Mission Building which dates back to 1842.
Hong Kong’s first governor, Sir Henry Pottinger, lived there from 1843 to 1846.
– Contact us at [email protected]